The Struggles of a Perpetually Shy Girl

Being shy comes with a lot of struggles. For example, you prefer Netflix over people. And dates with your stuffed animals than with a boy. Should you try going out or just stay inside and eat all the ice cream you own? It’s a hard life. Especially in college when everyone is overly social and you’re still struggling to decide if you should sit near the window or the door in lecture. While everyone is laughing with the person next to them, you’re praying no one sits in the empty seat next to you.

Here’s a few of the struggles that plague shy girls.

When people try to get you to come out with them 

tumblr_nqm2qqtqyR1tyncywo1_400

I’m not leaving my bed, sorry not sorry. Not today.

Constantly hearing, “You’re so quiet! Why don’t you talk more?”

tumblr_mt6nwfeM4s1r4bkcso1_400

If I had a dollar for every time I heard that, I could pay off my college debt.

Meeting big groups of people at once

tumblr_mu2bv4l40g1qivqx1o1_500

And out comes the anxiety and the want to run back into my bed and hide forever.

Not being able to find your size in your favorite jeans, but too scared to ask for the associate’s help

tumblr_inline_nnln4byhNk1qchspe_500

Screw this, maybe they’ll have them next week. 

When the teacher asks for everyone to stand up, say their name and something interesting about themselves

tumblr_nff8sqYZPe1saxqmso1_500

Please, no. There’s nothing interesting about me. Unless you count the fact that I can watch an entire season of Supernatural in one day. 

When someone you don’t know compliments you and you don’t know what to do

tumblr_nqkdeqDp0G1qgvxcno1_400

Thank you, kind person. *awkwardly and quickly shuffles away*

“Hey, you wanna go to this party tonight?”

tumblr_nqv6jvw0aO1uziibjo1_500

Loud music? Drunk people I don’t know? No, thanks. I’ll stay home with my fuzzy blanket and mac and cheese.

When you’re by yourself in an unfamiliar place

tumblr_nqtxk53Hgj1snjf80o1_400

I really hope no one tries to talk to me. 

When you talk and someone thinks it’s funny to say, “Oh my god! You can speak!”

tumblr_inline_nhipdj0j4U1qb2p7r

Wow! Who knew? 

“Hey, sorry, but I can’t make it. Can we reschedule?”

tumblr_inline_nmpr12wkQ21t1sl6g_500

The best moment ever. *dives back into bed and opens Netflix*

“You just have to talk more and get out of your comfort zone! Then you won’t be shy anymore :)”

retailproblems6

How about I drop you off a cliff? Then you won’t be scared of heights anymore.

All in all, embrace your shyness! Don’t change who you are for others.

Love,

-c.j xx

Leave a Reply

